Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Dear Tami,

I can tell from the sound of your letter this week that your genius has finally shown up to do his part on your next big idea: a new YA novel. I’m chuffed to bits for you. Not to brag, but I think having a theme song for the writing cave as I suggested last week might have been the just the thing to motivate him. No need to send thanks. That is, unless it’s in the form of a link on Google Maps.

The excitement of a new project is so intoxicating, isn’t it? It can also bring with it a fair amount of trepidation and self-doubt. Just run with it, friend, let it flow through you and see where it leads. That’s all part of the journey, right? It’s a process and not about achieving perfection. It’s about being an eager and humble student, learning all that you can and then practising it over and over. Ad infinitum.

Benedict Cumberbatch

And if your critique group does send you some hate mail for temporarily denying them the ending to your previous novel, simply send them my way. I’ll be glad to intercept their letters as well as any arguments they may have about your decision to let that particular unfinished novel rest until you’re ready to return to it. They’ll understand. And as you know, I can be very persuasive. If that doesn’t work, I’ll make ’em dance it out until they do. You don’t need to remind me how well that strategy works.

Since I don’t want to impede your creative flow with a lengthy letter, I’m going to get right to my next suggestion for the writing cave’s theme song. If you don’t mind me saying so, I think it matches quite well the mood that’s pervading the cave now:

oOo

oOo

I know, it’s been a favourite of yours for a long time. That’s the beauty of this one. It’s already on your iPod just waiting for you to crank up the volume when you enter the cave. It will help you and your genius get down to business. I can just picture the creativity flowing right through your fingers as the letters become words become sentences and so on, all the way to a completed novel.

And then it will be time to have some fun outside of the writing cave.

Benedict Cumberbatch

If it would help, I’ll even stand sentry at the writing cave’s entrance, you know, to keep out the other distractions. Like Eric Northman. And Don Draper. And Damon Salvatore. You know what I’m needing to make that happen.

Excitedly yours,

Ben

~*~

*Editor’s note: The views, ideas, and opinions expressed in the Letters from Benedict series are works of fiction and obviously did not come from the actor himself. This series is just my way of expressing adoration for Mr. Cumberbatch and his work and is not intended to be seen or read as a true collaborative writing endeavor with him.