Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last week I resumed the Wednesday “Would You Rather…?” series with this question:

Would you rather be raised by dolphins -OR- wolves?

Of the adventurous readers who responded, two said they would prefer to be raised by dolphins and seven preferred to be raised by wolves. Interestingly, one person opted for a clever dolphin/wolf split based on a summer/academic school year, one person was raised by wild Gypsy Banner horses, and one person claimed to have been raised by both a dolphin and a wolf. And, if that wasn’t fantastic enough, one person sent me a photo of her and her lovely cheetah mother, Irma. I had always suspected readers of the kasbah were an eclcetic, culturally diverse group and the answers (and photo!) to last week’s question definitely supports that.

As for me, I pondered this one off and on all week. I took into account many of the fine reasons for choosing one over the other that were presented in the comments. I consulted Wikipedia and discussed it with the 12 year old. It was a tough one.

By Arnaud 25 via Wikimedia Commons

On the one hand, dolphins are intelligent, graceful and it would be so cool to be raised in the ocean and hang out with fun characters like Nemo or visit people like Sawyer and Jack on their island on Lost. Unfortunately, I am a terrible swimmer, though not for lack of trying. Perhaps they could teach me to be an expert at it?

image credit ~ ucumari via Flickr

On the other hand, wolves are able to run fast and can cover lots of territory, are deeply devoted to their pack, and get to howl at the moon. Travel, loyalty and howling at the moon – all things at the top of my priority list. Sadly, being a vegetarian might prove difficult when living with a bunch of carnivorous kin.

So what did I choose?

Like I said, tough decision.

But in the end, I had to go with the one that would push me to learn and grow in ways I might not otherwise do as a human. And the animals with the greatest capacity to do that for me?

The dolphins.

As much as I enjoy a good moon-howling, I really do want to learn to be a better swimmer. And I think Ma and Pa Dolphin could show me a thing or two that the average swim instructor can’t.

And now, on to this week’s “Would You Rather…?” question:

Assuming you have the long-term goal of improving the world and the power to implement changes all over the world, would you rather:

have the benefit of knowing humankind’s future

-OR-

have the power to change humankind’s past?

What say you, fine readers? Which option would you choose – knowing the fate of our future or the power to change the past? Sit a while in the kasbah and give it some thought. Then share your answer below. I’d love to hear from you.