Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I love chocolate. This is my story.

But first, I’m in the kasbah’s very first blog hop: What’s Your Chocolate? Blog Hop hosted by these talented authors: Brinda Berry, M. Pax, Ciara Knight, and Laura Eno.

Click here and you’ll find the linky list of blogs where there’s many more chocolatey posts to enjoy. 

But while you’re here in the kasbah, I’ll tell you my story of how I became a chocolate snob. Don’t worry, I’ll be brief so you can get to the good stuff below.

It all started with the humble Hershey’s Kiss.

Hershey's Kiss

Such an innocent, little thing, really. The perfect tiny dose of chocolate to quell the craving.

And then came Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in the shape of an egg in my Easter basket. Why those tasted better than the standard circular ones is one of the great mysteries of life.

Next came Twix, that creamy chocolate and chewy caramel candy bar with the cookie crunch. To me, that was candy bar perfection in the 1980’s. It was my go-to candy bar, the one I pined for when the chocolate craving struck.

Some years later, I moved west and discovered local chocolatier, Euphoria Chocolate Company. Their to-die-for truffles and dark chocolate covered graham crackers introduced my naive palate to the wonders of the artisan confectionary. Euphoria indeed.

photo credit ~ Eugene Daily News

My chocolate love doesn’t stop at candy. It will gladly extend itself to ice cream (my favorite flavor is Mexican Mocha – a chocolate/coffee/cinnamon blend of heavenly goodness) and mochas at my favorite cafe. Coffee and chocolate. Chocolate and coffee. They were meant for each other. And for me.

This is one of the smaller parcels. I highly recommend procuring a friend who sends chocolates from Europe.

Then came the gourmet chocolates from Europe. Over the past ten years, my friend, Anne, has sent large boxes filled with chocolates from Germany, Belgium, and Switzerland. Then, when I was in Germany visiting her, I was encouraged to try Ritter Sport Trauben Nuss, which I believe is German for you will totally get over your raisin hatred, fall in love with this candy bar, and never go back to your old standards. Yes, it has raisins and hazelnuts. Sounds a bit unappealing, right? I thought so, too. But trust me when I say there’s something about the three flavors melding together that is so delightful in every darn bite.

Yeah, the wrapper is open. Whatever. I can’t be trusted with this much chocolate and be expected to not eat some.

And thus a chocolate snob was born. I blame it on the Germans. (Sorry, Anne.) The humble Hershey’s kiss wasn’t going to cut it for me any longer.

Then came the current chocolate love of my life: Chocolove Almonds & Sea Salt in Dark Chocolate. Crunchy almonds, a sprinkling of sea salt, quality Belgian dark chocolate. Sweet, salty goodness all masterfully blended together and then placed in an artful wrapper with Phillip Sydney’s Astrophil and Stella poem written inside. The only thing that would improve on this candy bar’s perfection is a classy British actor stopping by to read the poem.

Chocolove Almonds & Sea Salt in Dark Chocolate

And now for the fun part, sweet readers! You didn’t think I’d blather on and on about my inane chocolate obsession and not share some with you, did you? The kasbah is a classier joint than that. Chocolate is best enjoyed when shared with others, especially when we each have our own stash from which to nibble.

So, in honor of the kasbah’s first blog hop, I have a sampling of a few of my current favorite chocolates to give away to one lucky commenter. That’s right, it’s the kasbah’s VERY FIRST GIVEAWAY.

A small, tidy parcel of three different chocolates from yours truly will arrive on the doorstep of one lucky commenter whose name will be chosen in a random drawing. All you have to do is leave a comment below by Monday, September 17th and you’ll be entered into the drawing. I will announce the winner later that week.

Here’s what you’ll receive when it arrives on that most joyous of days: Chocolove Almonds & Sea Salt in Dark Chocolate, Green & Black’s Milk Chocolate with Toffee (also quite delectable), and Ritter Sport Milk Chocolate (sorry, I can never find Trauben Nuss here and mine are all gone – you’ll have to get your own German friend to send you that one).

photographic proof the wrappers are unopened and intact at the time of this posting…

I recommend having a cup of freshly brewed tea or coffee and a good book to read to further enhance your enjoyment. Or better yet, share them with a friend. Whatever you like. It’s your chocolate.

And remember to cilck here to see the linky list and make your way to other chocolicious blogs.

So, charming readers, what was your first chocolate love? Which chocolate confectionary delight has wooed you recently? Are you a chocolate hater? I’ve heard myths about such people but do they really exist? Sit and chat a while. As always, I love to hear from you.

