Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dear Tami,

I’ve been forlorn thinking of you in that writing cave/secret lair of yours feeling all sad and down. The dark place hasn’t lightened up yet, has it? I’m sad to hear that, my friend. My offer to whisk you away for a bit of fun still stands. All you have to do is say the word (and give me the GPS coordinates of your writing cave, obviously) and I’m there.

Don’t think I didn’t notice the lack of a confession to leaving those things in the woods for me last week. Telling me in your letter that I could look at them as “possible” clues to the location of your writing cave was very cryptic. And, I’ll admit, very intriguing. It’s a rather random assortment of clues, but I know better than to sit around and wait for you to explain it further.

I guess there’s only one thing left to say:

The game, my friend, is ON.

You’re obviously just as good at keeping your writing cave’s location a secret as you are at scaling down the sides of buildings, but I should probably let you know that you might want to get as much done on your novel as you can in the coming weeks. Why? Because I’m taking this search to the next level. Oh yes. I will be devoting more of my time to solving the enigmatic location of your cave. I’ll be putting my best people on this, and by people I mean myself, a GPS device, a few topographic maps, my mobile phone and my laptop.

Write quickly, my friend. Make those fingers fly across the keyboard. That is your challenge. Finding your writing cave is mine.

And when I discover your writing cave, just know that you’ll find me waiting on your doorstep ready for an adventure. Don’t worry, I’ve got some good ones in mind for us.

Speaking of adventures, you alluded to one in your letter that you’re thinking of sending me on next week. I can’t even begin to imagine what you’ve been plotting and scheming in that cave of yours. What I can imagine is the sly grin on your face as your mind whirls with adventurous ideas. It’s with equal parts trepidation and curiosity that I’ll be awaiting your next letter.

So, what have I been up to lately? Let’s see… Well, the narration I did for the Google+ ad in which I read “The Seven Ages of Man” from Shakespeare’s “As You Like It” came out last week. (You can watch it here if you haven’t already.) I’m not given to self-accolades but if I was pressed to, I would say it came out rather nicely, don’t you?

I’ve also been trying to wrap my mind around possibly being included in Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People of the Year. I am both deeply humbled and completely amazed that my name is on the list. Me? Influential? Really? I can hardly believe it.

I know I’ve mentioned that the last couple of years have been such an amazing, wild ride for me. The thing that’s been most difficult for me to fully grasp and understand is all of the attention and adoration from the fans. Does that make any sense? Don’t get me wrong – I’m immensely grateful and thankful for all of it. I’m SO very appreciative that my work is getting more and more noticed. I couldn’t be happier about it. I am incredibly privileged and lucky to be able to do the work that I love.

But at the end of the day, I’m just a guy doing his job. I’m not some kind of superhero. I haven’t performed brain surgery or penned the solution for world peace. I’m just a man who enjoys getting on stage or in front of a camera and doing my best to bring my character to life. I love what I do. Sure, it’s taken a lot of hard work to get where I’m at now. And still, I’m just a guy. Just doing my job.

I know you get what I’m saying – you’re always such a good listener. I’m on an incredible journey right now. I know it will come to an end at some point and when it does, I plan to move on with my life and continue to enjoy my friends and family in the same way I do now: with an open heart and my feet firmly planted on the ground.

So what is it about an actor (or anyone who has a public presence) that can bring out so much adoration from fans? I’m not asking specifically about me or fishing for compliments – just trying to understand. Perhaps you can ask your readers to shed some light on it for me.

But enough about me. Tell me, dear friend, how is your YA novel coming along? I’ve been writing down a few luscious bits of dialogue for your novel and saving them for you. I know you disagree with the relevance to your story, but I find it to be a wonderful writing exercise. Who knows? You may decide you want to add in a mysterious love interest for your main character, perhaps one who just happens to have a British accent.

Now where did I put my GPS device…?

Yours faithfully,

Ben

~*~

*Editor’s note: The views, ideas, and opinions expressed in the Letters from Benedict series are works of fiction and obviously did not come from the actor himself. This series is just my way of expressing adoration for Mr. Cumberbatch and his work and is not intended to be taken at face value or seen as a true collaborative writing endeavor with him.

