Tags

, , , , , ,

~photo by Xerones via Flickr

Happy Vernal Equinox to all of you! The calendar says it’s spring today but the view out my window says otherwise. Listening to some Alison Krauss and the Wailin’ Jennys this morning makes it all the more difficult to be present here in the NW when all I want to do is be somewhere warm sittin’ in a hammock sipping a beverage that’s not socially acceptable to drink at this hour of day.

Thank goodness for the lovely view of the river through the budding trees here at work. Bright green moss shrouds many of the branches that reach like fingers up to the pale gray sky. Even though I am craving the sunshine, there is a hauting beauty to it all.

On another completely unrelated note, I’ve been tagged in a writer’s game, The Lucky 7 Meme, by my friend, Mike Schulenberg. Thanks, Mike!

Here are the rules to which I must adhere:

1. Go to page 77 of your current MS/WIP
2. Go to line 7
3. Copy down the next 7 lines, sentences, or paragraphs, and post them as they’re written.
4. Tag 7 authors, and let them know.

So, served up with a big ol’ bag of humility, here is an exerpt of the crappy first draft of my YA novel:
 

The park looked deserted when I arrived except for the animals I knew were scurrying around in the dark. Winded from running all the way from the Exodus, I needed to sit down on a bench to catch my breath. The sliver of crescent moon above was of little help in illuminating the park beyond the dimly lit lampposts standing sentry around the playground’s edges, making it hard to see into the dark depths of the wooded area beyond.

I looked towards the playground, but found it difficult to see the merry-go-round from where I was sitting. I went over to the swings and sat down on the same one I had occupied the night before, hoping that by recreating the same scene, I would somehow magically make him appear. 

 And now, it’s my turn to tag 7 awesome writers!
 
 
And as Mike noted, if you want to participate and your WIP doesn’t have 77 pages, it would be perfectly acceptable to post 7 lines from page 7.
 
Thanks, again, for the tag, Mike! I’m looking forward to seeing some previews of the manuscripts/works-in-progress we’re all working so hard on these days.
 
